# Input Cost Comparison: GPT-4o Wins Pricing; Claude Wins 50.6% Benchmark

Ethan Price · September 27, 2026

> Unverified GPT-4o and Claude 3.5 Sonnet rates prevent a valid input-cost comparison, despite a $3-per-million-token claim and Claude’s 50.6% benchmark win.

## Input-Cost Comparison Requires Verified Rates

The supplied evidence does not verify model-specific input prices for GPT-4o or Claude 3.5 Sonnet, so it cannot establish an input-price winner. The headline states an input rate of $3 per million tokens, but the supplied evidence does not identify which model carries that rate. The Qwen3.8 Max rate and the TBench run costs belong to other comparisons and cannot fill the gap. A valid token-cost comparison requires both input and output token volumes and each exact model’s separate input and output rates.

![Across rain darkened glass canyon copper bridge leads sunlit](https://static.mm-ais.com/article-images-ai/input-cost-comparison-gpt-4o-wins-pricin-ai-725b12ef.jpg)
Across rain darkened glass canyon copper bridge leads sunlit

## Benchmark Evidence: No Verifiable Winner

The supplied evidence contains no benchmark score, test date, uncertainty interval, or common evaluation harness for GPT-4o or Claude 3.5 Sonnet. It therefore cannot establish a benchmark winner. Historical model-card results could be compared only if the exact dated snapshots and evaluation conditions were supplied for both models.

| Model and primary source | Benchmark variant and date | Reported score | Scoring rule | Tool access | Prompt or few-shot conditions | Calculated lead | Decision use |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet; no supplied pair-specific result | Not established | Not reported | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not calculable | No winner can be selected |
| GPT-4o; no supplied pair-specific result | Not established | Not reported | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not calculable | No winner can be selected |

Because no pair-specific scores are supplied, no point gap, relative lead, or ranking can be calculated. The supplied TBench entries, including Sonnet 5 and GPT-6 Astra, are differently named models and cannot substitute for either headline model. The benchmark winner remains unresolved.

A verified benchmark result would still not by itself establish production instructional efficacy. A domain-reasoning test does not model tutoring dialogue, learner misconceptions, adaptive feedback, or knowledge transfer. Input-only cost per accepted result also cannot be calculated because neither exact model rates nor a task-specific acceptance measure is supplied.

The practical action is to obtain and archive dated primary results for exact model snapshots, preserve their labels, and record the benchmark, prompt, tool access, scorer, repetitions, and uncertainty. Where a source is silent, record “not disclosed” rather than assuming parity. Before naming a winner, run both snapshots through a common harness; until then, neither the price comparison nor the benchmark ordering is resolved.

![Benchmark Evidence: No Verifiable Winner — Input Cost Comparison](https://static.mm-ais.com/article-images-pixabay/input-cost-comparison-gpt-4o-wins-pricin-902fd409.jpg)

## The 2026 Evidence Gap: No Defensible Split Verdict

The supplied 2026 evidence does not support a split verdict between GPT-4o and Claude 3.5 Sonnet. It contains neither like-for-like model-specific rates nor a common benchmark result. TBench dollar figures are complete-run costs associated with particular agents, reasoning settings, dates, and token workloads; they are not per-million-token input prices, and the listed models do not include the headline pair.

The supplied 2026 TBench table does not include either GPT-4o or Claude 3.5 Sonnet. The available API price comparator is for Qwen3.8 Max, a separate model. The source set provides no dated provider rate for standard input, cached input, batch input, or output for the exact headline pair, so no model can be assigned the headline’s unverified rate or declared the historical price winner.

Caching prevents a universal price winner. A fair comparison must distinguish standard input, cached input, batch input, and output rates and include any cache-write, cache-hit, tool, and retry charges. The governing calculation is **(input tokens × applicable input rate + output tokens × output rate + cache, tool, and retry charges) ÷ task-specific pass@1**. Without exact rates, matched token volumes, and task-specific acceptance, neither system deserves a categorical cost win.

A declared proxy would need explicit input and output token volumes, exact model-specific rates, ancillary-charge assumptions, and task-specific acceptance. Those inputs are not supplied for this pair, so no nominal cost winner, crossover, or materiality judgment is supported. Reprice when verified workload or rate information changes.

| Metric | GPT-4o | Claude 3.5 Sonnet | Winner |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Benchmark quality | No supplied pair-specific result | No supplied pair-specific result | Unresolved |
| Input price | No supplied exact-model rate | No supplied exact-model rate | Unresolved |
| Output price (generation cost is not included in the input-price premise) | No supplied exact-model rate | No supplied exact-model rate | Unresolved |
| Input-only cost per correct | Not calculable without an input rate and acceptance measure | Not calculable without an input rate and acceptance measure | Unresolved |
| Cache treatment | Standard, cached, batch, cache-write, and cache-hit treatment must be specified | Standard, cached, batch, cache-write, and cache-hit treatment must be specified | Unresolved; a matched workload trace is required |
| Declared all-in proxy cost per accepted artifact | Not calculable without exact rates, token volumes, ancillary charges, and task-specific acceptance | Not calculable without exact rates, token volumes, ancillary charges, and task-specific acceptance | No winner is supported |

![The 2026 Evidence Gap: No Defensible Split Verdict — Input Cost Comparison](https://static.mm-ais.com/article-images-pixabay/input-cost-comparison-gpt-4o-wins-pricin-6287ee8c.jpg)

## Input and Output Cost Per Accepted Answer

For this 2026 comparison, the supplied evidence does not identify a nominal all-in winner. A valid proxy would require exact model snapshots, explicit input and output token volumes, model-specific rates, ancillary-charge assumptions, and task-specific pass@1. Those inputs are not supplied for GPT-4o or Claude 3.5 Sonnet, so no accepted-answer calculation is supported. TBench’s run-level costs cannot substitute for per-million-token API prices.

The decision rule is straightforward: cost per accepted artifact equals the sum of input-token cost, output-token cost, cache charges, tool charges, and retry charges, divided by task-specific pass@1. All additional charges must be specified rather than assumed absent. The ledger provides no exact GPT-4o input or output rate and no task-specific acceptance measure, so its attempt cost and cost per accepted answer cannot be calculated.

The ledger likewise provides no exact Claude 3.5 Sonnet input or output rate and no task-specific acceptance measure. Consequently, no cost difference or relative percentage can be calculated, and no nominal ranking is supported.

Without a verified cost difference, the article’s provisional band cannot be applied. Any future estimate should be tested for sensitivity to rounding, workload composition, and whether benchmark performance transfers to first-pass acceptance.

An input-only sensitivity also cannot be calculated without exact input rates and task-specific acceptance rates. In general, a higher acceptance rate can offset a higher input rate, but the supplied evidence gives neither a verified rate pair nor acceptance measures for this comparison. No crossover or winner can therefore be stated.

The operational takeaway is to obtain exact model pricing and a matched task trace before choosing a nominal leader. Until then, the comparison remains unresolved rather than provisional because the necessary figures are absent.

| Proxy | GPT-4o per accepted answer | Claude 3.5 Sonnet per accepted answer | Decision |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Input-and-output proxy | Not calculable from the supplied evidence | Not calculable from the supplied evidence | No winner is supported |
| Input-only proxy | Not calculable from the supplied evidence | Not calculable from the supplied evidence | No winner is supported |

![Input and Output Cost Per Accepted Answer — Input Cost Comparison](https://static.mm-ais.com/article-images-pixabay/input-cost-comparison-gpt-4o-wins-pricin-7135869e.png)

## What the Data Doesn't Tell You

A benchmark scorecard ordering is not a production effect. A finite benchmark sample and the absence of a common randomized harness prevent the supplied material from establishing a production winner for the headline pair. Any future comparison must retain its uncertainty and evaluation provenance.

No pair-specific spread is supplied. Vendor model cards, if obtained, can differ in prompts, system instructions, tools, retries, graders, or answer parsing. Any of those choices can create an apparent model effect. A causal comparison would freeze those conditions, run both snapshots on the same items, and retain item-level outcomes. Otherwise, the result describes a model-plus-harness package rather than a model in the wild.

There is no benchmark-independent winner in the supplied evidence. Because no pair-specific result is available for either benchmark or any other evaluation, the material does not support a cross-benchmark finding. Benchmark sensitivity marks the boundary of the claim.

Aggregate accuracy, even if supplied, can hide the economics of an accepted response. It omits output-token distribution, latency, refusal and error rates, and whether retrieval or compute tools were permitted. A correct answer produced through a longer, more expensive trace is not an equal-cost pass. Cost-per-accepted-artifact calculations should therefore be applied to measured traces that include cache, tool, and retry charges rather than to a cleaned pass rate. Where those traces are missing, no declared all-in ranking or provisional cost band can be calculated. The shortcut that a higher-input-rate model is automatically more expensive is not established: the result depends on rates, token volumes, ancillary charges, and task-specific acceptance.

For the 2026 planning cycle, endpoint identity is part of the measurement. If Claude 3.5 Sonnet is retired, aliased, or repriced, or if a GPT-4o alias resolves to another snapshot, the endpoint is no longer the named historical system. Preserve original scorecards as historical evidence; do not present them as proof of a live endpoint’s present capabilities. The run log should pin the snapshot identifier, alias mapping, model card, and effective rate schedule. Because no price or benchmark choice is currently supported, these controls determine whether future evidence can resolve the comparison.

As a learning scientist, I would reject any inference from benchmark accuracy to knowledge transfer without a tutorial-specific rubric and delayed learner assessment. Benchmark accuracy measures model answers under evaluation conditions, not whether a person can later retrieve, retain, and apply an explanation in a new problem. An instructional evaluation needs task-level scoring aligned to the tutorial objective, a delayed post-test, and evidence of transfer beyond answer mimicry. Without that design, benchmark accuracy does not demonstrate durable learning.

| Evidence check | Named source | Verified record | Decision consequence |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Benchmark resolution and attribution | Provided source set | No pair-specific score, date, uncertainty interval, or common harness is supplied | No production or benchmark winner is established; obtain paired model results under a common evaluation. |
| Cross-benchmark check | Provided source set | No pair-specific benchmark results are supplied | Do not convert an unresolved comparison into a universal ranking. |

![What the Data Doesn&#039;t Tell You — Input Cost Comparison](https://static.mm-ais.com/article-images-pixabay/input-cost-comparison-gpt-4o-wins-pricin-9b9a5ab2.jpg)

## How to Choose Well

Choose by the lower empirically measured cost per accepted artifact, not by the input sticker rate. According to Baseten and OpenRouter, a valid token-cost comparison requires both input and output token volumes and each model’s separate rates. A single input rate cannot establish total task cost. No last verifiable named-model scorecard is supplied for the exact headline pair, so no pricing or benchmark candidate winner is established.

Keep model identity separate from leaderboard recency. According to the supplied 2026 tbench leaderboard, neither GPT-4o nor Claude 3.5 Sonnet appears; GPT-6 Astra, Sonnet 5, Opus 5, and Fable 5.1 are contextual later entries, not aliases or participants. A family name cannot repair a missing endpoint or rate. The comparison is auditable only when the endpoint identity and rate snapshot are frozen together; otherwise, the supplied evidence leaves an archival gap rather than a current choice.

The evaluation gate must be behavioral, not bibliographic. BetterBench evaluates benchmark quality through 46 best practices spanning the benchmark lifecycle (BetterBench, arXiv:2411.12990), which is why a polished vendor score cannot substitute for task-specific evidence. Representative instructional tasks must also preserve identical retrieval and tool budgets; otherwise, the observed pass fraction confounds model quality with workflow advantage. Factual correctness, source integrity, cognitive load, and learner transfer must be evaluated together before cost is divided by observed acceptance.

The proxy crossover cannot be calculated because exact rates, acceptance measures, and a defined workload are not supplied. No nominal cost lead is available for an uncertainty comparison. I therefore apply the following rules in sequence:

| Gate | Decision condition | Required action |
| --- | --- | --- |
| 1. Freeze identity and rates | Use the exact endpoint ID and a dated sheet containing standard input, cached-input, batch-input, output, and tool rates. | If a named endpoint lacks a current rate, mark the comparison archival; do not substitute a family alias. |
| 2. Pass the evidence gate | Run a representative instructional task set under one rubric with identical retrieval and tool budgets. | Report task-specific pass@1 and an uncertainty estimate before using a vendor benchmark score; otherwise, run or expand the evaluation. |
| 3. Measure accepted work | Accept an artifact only when it passes the factual, source, cognitive-load, and learner-transfer checks. | For every trial, divide input-token charges, output-token charges, and cache, tool, and retry charges by task-specific pass@1; choose the lower empirically measured cost per accepted artifact. |
| 4. Apply the proxy boundary | At a predefined input-token volume, compare the verified output volume, applicable rates, and task-specific acceptance. | Calculate both model costs and identify any crossover only after all inputs are verified; recalculate every other context length rather than extrapolating. |
| 5. Apply materiality | Apply a predefined materiality threshold to the measured cost difference and its uncertainty. | Classify an unresolved or uncertain result as provisional and retain the incumbent until a larger same-rubric evaluation resolves the gap. |

## What to do next

| Step | Action | Why it matters |
| --- | --- | --- |
| 1 | Create a matched GPT-4o and Claude run sheet for the same task set and use a documented common token-accounting method. | This keeps the comparison tied to identical tasks and declared token measurements. |
| 2 | Obtain dated rates for each exact model, distinguishing standard input, cached input, batch input, and output. Do not assign the headline’s $3 per million token input rate until a supplied source identifies the model that carries it. | The headline does not specify which model has that rate, and the supplied evidence does not resolve the attribution. |
| 3 | For each model, record input tokens, output tokens, applicable token rates, cache charges, tool charges, retry charges, and task-specific pass@1. | These are the variables required to compare delivered artifacts rather than raw request volume. |
| 4 | Calculate all-in cost per accepted artifact as (input tokens x applicable input rate + output tokens x output rate + cache, tool, and retry charges) / task-specific pass@1. | The formula accounts for output, ancillary work, failures, and acceptance. |
| 5 | Choose the lower calculated result and apply a predeclared materiality threshold and uncertainty rule. If the result remains unresolved or within the provisional band, rerun the matched task set before changing the default. | An uncertain or narrow gap is not stable enough to justify a definitive model switch. |
| 6 | Record pricing and benchmark findings separately. The supplied evidence verifies neither a pairwise pricing winner nor a benchmark result for the exact models. | Cost efficiency and benchmark performance are different decision criteria and should not be conflated. |

## Frequently Asked Questions

**Can Claude 3.5 Sonnet be said to lead GPT-4o by 50.6% on the benchmark?**

No—the supplied evidence contains no pair-specific benchmark score, test date, uncertainty interval, or common evaluation harness, so no 50.6% lead can be verified.

**Which model carries the headline’s stated $3-per-million-token input rate?**

The evidence does not identify which model carries that rate or provide both models’ separate input and output rates, so it cannot establish a price winner.

**Why can’t the TBench dollar figures be used to price GPT-4o and Claude 3.5 Sonnet?**

TBench figures are complete-run costs for differently named models, reasoning settings, dates, and token workloads rather than per-million-token prices for the headline pair.

**What pricing distinctions are required for a fair input-cost comparison?**

A fair comparison must distinguish standard input, cached input, batch input, and output rates and specify any cache-write, cache-hit, tool, and retry charges.

**What must be controlled before naming a benchmark winner?**

Both exact dated model snapshots must run through a common harness with their labels, benchmark, prompt, tool access, scorer, repetitions, and uncertainty preserved.

**How is cost per accepted artifact calculated?**

Cost per accepted artifact equals input-token cost plus output-token cost, cache charges, tool charges, and retry charges, divided by task-specific pass@1.

## Quick answers

| Does the supplied evidence establish GPT-4o as the input-price winner? | No; exact model-specific input prices for GPT-4o and Claude 3.5 Sonnet are not supplied, so an input-price winner cannot be established. |
| --- | --- |
| Does the claimed 50.6% benchmark result establish Claude as the winner? | No; the supplied evidence contains no pair-specific benchmark score, common evaluation harness, or other necessary benchmark details. |
| What is required for a valid token-cost comparison? | A valid comparison requires input and output token volumes and each exact model’s separate input and output rates. |
| Can the Qwen3.8 Max rate or TBench run costs substitute for the missing GPT-4o and Claude rates? | No; they belong to other comparisons and models and cannot establish a price winner for the headline pair. |
| What should be done before naming a price or benchmark winner? | Obtain and archive dated primary results for the exact model snapshots and run both snapshots through a common harness while recording the required test conditions. |

Also worth reading: **PyEval-2026: GPT-4o Context Sinks, Claude 3 Edge Cases in Python Tutoring**: [PyEval-2026: GPT-4o Context Sinks, Claude](https://aitutorialmaker.com/blog/pyeval-2026-gpt-4o-context-sinks-claude-3-edge-cases-in-python-tutoring.php) · **Claude 2026 API Restructure: Hidden Costs of Cheaper Models**: [Claude 2026 API Restructure: Hidden](https://aitutorialmaker.com/blog/claude-2026-api-restructure-hidden-costs-of-cheaper-models.php) · **Claude Writing Tutor Cuts Revision Time 25%: 2026 Experiment**: [Claude Writing Tutor Cuts Revision](https://aitutorialmaker.com/blog/claude-writing-tutor-cuts-revision-time-25-2026-experiment.php)

### Related reading

- [When Nonparametric Tests Outperform Multivariate Analysis A Data-Driven Comparison in Survey Research](https://aitutorialmaker.com/blog/when_nonparametric_tests_outperform_multivariate_analysis_a.php)
- [Demystifying PHP String Concatenation Performance Comparison of = vs Double Quotes in 2024](https://aitutorialmaker.com/blog/demystifying_php_string_concatenation_performance_comparison.php)
- [Understanding Greater Than and Less Than Symbols in Python Comparison Operators A Step-by-Step Guide](https://aitutorialmaker.com/blog/understanding_greater_than_and_less_than_symbols_in_python_c.php)
- [7 Key Differences Between R and Python for Statistical Analysis in Online Courses (2024 Comparison)](https://aitutorialmaker.com/blog/7_key_differences_between_r_and_python_for_statistical_analy.php)
- [Analysis How edX's 2024 EDXSPRING24 Code Affects AI Course Pricing and Accessibility](https://aitutorialmaker.com/blog/analysis_how_edx_s_2024_edxspring24_code_affects_ai_course_p.php)
- [Breaking Down Coursera's 2024 Pricing Structure From $999 Projects to $35,000 Degrees](https://aitutorialmaker.com/blog/breaking_down_coursera_s_2024_pricing_structure_from_999_pr.php)

### Latest

- [Cut Tutorial Dropout: 91% Captions vs Keyboard Chapters Stack or Settle](https://aitutorialmaker.com/blog/cut-tutorial-dropout-91-captions-vs-keyboard-chapters-stack-or-settle.php)
- [How to teach coding online: 26% lift live trigger vs replay](https://aitutorialmaker.com/blog/how-to-teach-coding-online-26-lift-live-trigger-vs-replay.php)
- [Dataclasses for Structured Application Data](https://aitutorialmaker.com/blog/dataclasses-for-structured-application-data.php)

Canonical: https://aitutorialmaker.com/blog/input-cost-comparison-gpt-4o-wins-pricing-claude-wins-506-benchmark.php
Markdown: https://aitutorialmaker.com/blog/input-cost-comparison-gpt-4o-wins-pricing-claude-wins-506-benchmark.php/index.md
